Author Topic: Unknown library cues heard in DragonBall Z and Pokemon  (Read 143 times)

kenisu3000

Unknown library cues heard in DragonBall Z and Pokemon
« on: November 17, 2021, 10:14:15 AM »
Hi!

I'm looking to ID several library cues from anime, with a primary focus on DragonBall and Pocket Monsters (Pokemon). While I'd consider myself a film score fan veteran, I'm new to the library part of that, and though it's great to see that there's so much documentation on what's out there (where before I'd assumed it was ALL a big nebulous mystery), I'm more than a little daunted at the sheer scope of it.

Even though pretty much everything I'm looking for is over 20 years old, that still means sifting through thousands of labels, hundreds of thousands of albums, and millions of individual tracks. I could never live long enough to comb through it all, and I tend to be terrible at picking the right genre tags to narrow my search with.

I have at least started. But I thought it wouldn't hurt to throw a few things out there to the veterans just on the off-chance you guys might recognize something.

First off is this "welcome to the Big Apple"-style cue from DragonBall, when Goku first sets foot in Metro West. It also plays in the next episode when the female bounty hunter Husky arrives in the same city. If it helps, these episodes aired in December 1986.

Next is a meditation theme heard much later, as Goku is learning how to tap into the silence around him so he can more easily catch fish. This episode aired 28 September 1988.