Author Topic: Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination And Brass - PolJazz PSJ-83  (Read 387 times)


  • Registered
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination And Brass - PolJazz PSJ-83
« on: September 09, 2021, 12:38:10 AM »
Hello all,

I recently got an LP as a birthday present from my girlfriend.

Had in the past always flirted with a purchase, but in view of the age and the origin of the LP always hesitated to buy me a copy.

Well, now it worked out after all. The LP itself has, as expected, visually a lot of hair scratches and so it sounds then despite LP washing unfortunately.

But thanks to iZotope RX I was able to restore the recording of my transfer satisfactorily.

I rearranged the tracklist to the extent that I simply swapped side 1 and side 2 (see comment from Discogs).

So the comments of Peter Herbolzheimer during the concert make sense again.

BTW, does anyone know what the "01 Unknown Track" is called?

Have fun with it!


01 Unknown Track
02 Peter Herbolzheimer speaks
03 The Catfish
04 Birdland
05 Nica's Dream
06 Peter Herbolzheimer speaks
07 Time Out
08 Peter Herbolzheimer speaks
09 Feet Back Brother


Lineage LP-digitization (2021 07 09, Pittylabelle)

-> Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination And Brass - PolJazz – PSJ-83 (2021 06 09)
-> Turntable: Technics SL-D2 / Stylus: Empire MK III E
-> Recorder: Olympus LS-12: Line-In, Rec-Level: 22, *.WAV - 16 Bit / 44,1 kHz

-> Editing: iZoptop RX 5 Advanced: De-click
-> Editing: Sound Forge Pro 13.0: Volume adjustments RMS, Track editing
-> Coding: TLH: Align on sector boundaries (Level 8): WAV to FLAC


1. iZoptop RX 5 Advanced

De-click Presetes: Vinyl record
Algorithm: M-band (random clicks)
Click type: Click
Sensitivity: 5,0
Frequenccy skew: 0,0
Click widening (ms): 0,0


2. Soundforge 13.0:

Side 1:
1. L: -21,2 / R: -23,0 | Gesamt RMS Level angepaßt auf -21,2 dB (R: +1,8 dB)

Side 2:
1. L: -21,3 / R: -23,4 | Gesamt RMS Level angepaßt auf -21,3 dB (R: +2,1 dB)



Dann Gesamt-Gain beider Kanäle um 2,4 dB erhöht, natürlich ohne zu clippen.


Hier ein Kommentar von Discogs:

Recorded live in January 1979 in Congress Hall (Warsaw) during the Federal Republic of Germany Days of Culture Festival.

This release is a real mess: lots of typos, the tracklist and running order on labels is wrong and the labels do not correspondend with cover.
The performing artists were obviously completely unknown in Poland as some are spelled incorrectly.

Tracklisting and order on cover is correct.
On labels they are messed up completely and even more so labels are switched.
Actually tracks from side B play on side A and vice versa.

Tracklisting on labels is (completely wrong):
A1 Catfish (Dizzy Gillespie?)
A2 Birdland (Joe Zawinul)
A3 Jive Samba (Nat Adderley) > not mentioned at all on cover
B1 Feedback Brotner (?)
B2 Utwór niezidentyfikowany

Total time: A side (18:27), B side (18:49).

B3 actual title is "Feedback Brother"
Dom Um Romao is from Brazil, not Argentina as stated on cover.

« Last Edit: September 09, 2021, 12:47:15 AM by Katzimir »

musica pal pueblo

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
Re: Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination And Brass - PolJazz PSJ-83
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2021, 11:01:41 AM »
Many thanks